Anomaly

Game freeze when being screenshotted

This has been bugging me since I started playing on CoD4X servers, but I figured it was finally time to create a post about it here. Whenever I get screenshotted my entire game freezes for 7-10 seconds straight. According to my tests, there's only a marginal freeze on 640*480, but it gets increasingly worse with bigger. My native resolution is 2560*1440, if I set in-game resolution to 4k/uhd, then the freeze is even longer and I just get disconnected from the game eventually. First I thought it was because of my relatively low upload speed, but that's not the case given that screenshots are uploaded with a few KB/s. I've asked around and there are definitely more people having this problem, although most people play this game on resolutions up to 1920*1080 max. I'd like to see this problem fixed ^

it's not a general issue. i play on 2560x1440 myself without any issues. i've never heared of somebody else having that issue.

- is this happening on a specific server?
- what's your pc specs?
- when did this start occuring?

Posted (edited)

No, to my knowledge this is not restricted to just one server, as I know for a fact it happens on two 1.8 servers I play regularly on. I have a 3700x / vega56 / 16gb ram, pc specs shouldn't warrant this kind of issue at all. This started happening as soon as I started playing on CoD4X servers, which for me was early 2019 I think. Might not have been as bad then because at some point I switched from a 1080P monitor to 1440P monitor.

I can include some demos, that show how my game becomes temporarily frozen, if that helps.

Edit: Now that I think about it, I have definitely played on a CoD4X server before where I didn't notice being screenshotted, this was 2018 - early 2019 I think.

Edited by Anomaly
clarity

14 minutes ago, Anomaly said:

pc specs shouldn't warrant this kind of issue at all